Remember me?

No I have not dropped off the face of the planet, although exam week made me wish I did. I haven’t posted a single article since New Years for the reason that I am a highschool student who has been plagued with a math exam. Somehow, I survived and am ready to come back full speed with new posts every Saturday and Wednesday!

To celebrate this wonderful news, I’m sharing a rant on speeches that I wrote for my grade 9 English class .Enjoy!

Presenting in front of a group of people has always been one of my biggest fears. In grade 4 I had to present a french speech, once I got to the front of the class I had trouble breathing, started feeling light headed and like I was going to throw up. I eventually finished my speech and received a B-, I felt terrible about myself and thought I would never present in front of the class again. I was wrong, because for some reason teachers love watching their students suffer through two minutes of talking about something that doesn’t really interest them in front of 16 other people. Why do teachers do this? I have no idea. All I know is that I am 100% okay with not having to speak in front of the class, I can learn just fine listening to the teacher talk about the same thing that I would’ve said in my presentation anyways. Teachers also think that showing it in the form of a video is better, it isn’t, trust me. Your face is blown up on the projector and your voice sounds higher pitched and annoying and suddenly you never want to talk to anyone ever again because you think “does my voice really sound like that?”. I mean, do teachers not get the hint when they ask “who wants to go first” and nobody raises their hand? I thought they had a bachelor’s degree or something. My favourite part are the little twists teachers throw in; talk about something you love and feel passionate about BUT please also present three visual representations, write a best selling novel on your speech, teach a monkey how to juggle, and while you’re at it, memorize the entire thing!  Public speaking also isn’t something that I will encounter everyday, I am 100% positive that Susan from next door isn’t going to stop me in the grocery store asking me to recite the war of 1812. Or if someone is asking how my day went I’m sure I won’t need to have an introduction, three body paragraphs and and a grande finale concluding my thesis to tell them how my day at home was. Sure, it gives us practice on talking in public and memorization but it makes so many student’s self esteem so low they could trip over it, I have never met anyone who has told me before class “gee! I can’t wait to present today. I’m going to do great!”. The worst is when everything is going fine and out of the corner of your eye you see the teacher whip out their camera and and start recording you for marks, this makes the fidgeting worse and I end up leaving the class with half my clothes wrinkled from fiddling with it so much. What has this world come to? Unfortunately I have to cut this rant short because of the word count limit, but that’s another story.

Song of the day: Under Pressure by Queen

Leave a Reply

